Zoning and Planning


Whether you are contemplating building an addition to your home or expanding on your place of business, adding an additional stall to your driveway, or building a fence around your yard, your first step is to examine the city or township zoning ordinances to determine if a special exception or variance must be granted. All zoning changes in Nebraska are handled in zoning board hearings.

If you are facing a hearing before the zoning board in Nebraska, your interests will best be served by consulting an experienced zoning attorney as soon as possible to ensure the matter is handled appropriately. Otherwise, you risk having the zoning board deny your request — which is almost impossible to overturn.

The zoning lawyers of Wolfe, Snowden, Hurd, Luers & Ahl, LLP provide prompt, experienced advice and representation to homeowners, developers, farmers, and other clients with zoning needs in Nebraska. We assist clients with all land use and zoning matters involving:

  • Zoning variances
  • Special exceptions to zoning ordinances
  • Rezoning farmland
  • Defending farmers against zoning violations
  • Eminent domain/condemnation of residential or commercial property
  • Other zoning issues

For matters of construction law or zoning needs, contact the attorneys at Wolfe, Snowden, Hurd, Luers & Ahl, LLP at (402) 474-1507.

Attorneys in this area are:

Jack G. Wolfe
James B Luers

© 2013 Wolfe, Snowden, Hurd, Luers & Ahl, LLP. All Rights Reserved.

The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.


Our Law firm represents clients throughout Nebraska, Iowa, South Dakota, and Colorado including, but not limited to: Omaha, Lincoln, Bellevue, Fremont, Papillion, Blair, Norfolk, Kearney, Grand Island, North Platte, York, Geneva, Wilbur, Beatrice, Seward, Fairbury, Columbus, Osceola, Norfolk, Aurora, David City, Sutton, Clay Center, Hebron, Superior, Hastings, Alliance, Chadron, Sioux City, McCook, Imperial, Falls City, Douglas County, Lancaster County, Dodge County, Washington County, and Sarpy County.