3 names forwarded to governor for district judgeship


The Nebraska Judicial Nominating Commission pared down a list of Lincoln attorneys Tuesday from six to three to be considered for a Lancaster County district judgeship.

Lori Maret, Richard Rice and Melanie Whittamore-Mantzios each are seeking the appointment left vacant when District Judge Karen Flowers retired Dec. 31 after 17 years on the bench.


Gov. Dave Heineman will choose one of the three for the 3rd Judicial District judgeship after interviewing the candidates.

Maret was in private practice before she became a deputy Lancaster County Attorney about 11 years ago and now handles 300 active misdemeanor and felony domestic violence cases.

Rice practices business, commercial, real estate and estate planning law, representing and serving individuals as well as small and large businesses at the Law Offices of Crosby Guenzel.

Whittamore-Mantzios practiced 15 years at the Nebraska Attorney General's Office before joining Wolfe Snowden Hurd Luers & Ahl 10 years ago.

Milissa Johnson-Wiles and Janice Lipovsky, of Lincoln, and Joseph Dalton, of Waverly, also had applied for the judicial opening.

© 2013 Wolfe, Snowden, Hurd, Luers & Ahl, LLP. All Rights Reserved.

The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.


Our Law firm represents clients throughout Nebraska, Iowa, South Dakota, and Colorado including, but not limited to: Omaha, Lincoln, Bellevue, Fremont, Papillion, Blair, Norfolk, Kearney, Grand Island, North Platte, York, Geneva, Wilbur, Beatrice, Seward, Fairbury, Columbus, Osceola, Norfolk, Aurora, David City, Sutton, Clay Center, Hebron, Superior, Hastings, Alliance, Chadron, Sioux City, McCook, Imperial, Falls City, Douglas County, Lancaster County, Dodge County, Washington County, and Sarpy County.